Routt National Forest

Routt National Forest, established in 1905 and named after John Routt, the first governor of Colorado, spans over 1,125,438 acres in the Northwest Colorado region. Many of those acres are within Grand County’s borders, but Routt National Forest also expands into Routt, Jackson, Rio Blanco, Moffat, and Garfield counties. The Continental Divide splits the forest in half, causing the East portion of the forest to drain into the North Platte River and the West portion to drain into the Yampa River. 

Routt National Forest contains seven wilderness areas entirely or partially within it, allowing visitors many different opportunities and locations to get active year-round. These activities include hiking, biking, camping, horseback riding, OHV riding, fishing, hunting, sightseeing, photography and a wide array of winter sports, just to name a few.

For more information regarding camping restrictions, current road and trail conditions, and more, contact the Forest Service Parks Ranger District or call (970) 723-2700.

Discover Unspoiled Beauty

Acres of wilderness areas, outdoor recreation space, and stunning natural scenery—all waiting to be explored.

Getting Around

Once you get to Grand County, use one of our local transportation options to navigate from town to town.

Learn More

Maps & Guides

Find your way around Grand County towns.

Learn More

Request Info

Sign up to receive our monthly newsletter. Learn about updates, trip planning ideas, specials and events in Grand County, Colorado.

Learn More

Start Planning

Find your dream hotel, camping spot or lodge and start planning outdoor excursions, dining and must-see stops for your Grand County itinerary.

Plan Your Trip