Routt National Forest

Routt National Forest, established in 1905 and named after John Routt the first governor of Colorado, spans over 1,125,438 acres in the Northwest Colorado region. Many of those acres are within Grand County’s borders, but Routt National Forest also expands into Routt, Jackson, Rio Blanco, Moffat, and Garfield counties. The Continental Divide splits the forest in half, causing the East part of the forest to drain into the North Platte River and the west drained by the Yampa River. 

Routt National Forest contains seven wilderness areas entirely or partially within it, allowing visitors many different opportunities and locations to get active year-round. These activities include hiking, biking, camping, horse riding, OHV riding, fishing, hunting, sightseeing, photography and a wide array of winter sports, just to name a few.

For more information regarding camping restrictions, current road and trail conditions, and more, contact the Forest Service Parks Ranger District or call (970) 723-2700.

Attraction Map

Get Inspired & Explore

Winter Activities in RMNP

As the first flakes of snow start to fall in the high country, Rocky Mountain National Park turns into a winter wonderland. The chilly conditions drive many casual tourists away, leaving ample room for the real winter enthusiasts to roam around the park and take advantage of the open space and fresh packs. There's so much to do this winter in Rocky Mountain National Park, so make sure you check off…

Read More
Winter Family Fun

Here's a quick guide to the best family-friendly winter activities in our corner of mountain paradise.

Read More
Where to Learn: Ski and Snowboard Schools

For all the reasons to take a skiing or snowboarding lesson, there always seems to be twice as many reasons — or rather, excuses — not to take one. This is often more true for adults who already know how to ski or ride. If you already know, why bother? The answer is simple: because you'll have more fun.

Read More